Deadlines

Q: What is the latest I can submit my application before the deadline?

A: All PTCAS deadlines expire at 11:59 p.m. EASTERN time. Review the time zone list below to determine when the PTCAS application will close in your area:

  • 11:59 PM (EST)
  • 10:59 PM (CST)
  • 9:59 PM (MST)
  • 8:59 PM (PST)
  • 7:59 PM (AKST)
  • 6:59 PM (HST)

Please note: If you are located in Arizona, your time zone may change depending on the time of year.  It is your responsibility to ensure that you are applying prior to the deadline, regardless of what time zone you are located in.

Q: Can I request a deadline extension?

A: If the deadline of your program has expired, you may or may not be permitted to still apply to the program. Visit the PTCAS Directory to determine if the program may consider applicants who apply after the deadline has passed.

Q: Can I apply to a program after a “soft” deadline has passed?

A: Yes, as long as a program can be selected and saved to your Designations page, you are able to apply to that program, even if the stated soft deadline has passed.

Note: PTCAS recommends contacting programs with soft deadlines to determine if they still have space available prior to e-submitting your application to a program after their soft deadline.

Q: What will happen if my transcript, letters of reference, or payment arrives after the deadline? Will PTCAS process my application?

A: PTCAS will continue to process your application normally even if your transcripts, GRE scores, references, or payment are received after the deadline. However, PT programs may not consider your application if your application or any required materials is late. Other PT programs operate on a rolling admissions basis and give priority consideration to those applicants who apply earlier in the admissions cycle. If you apply to a program with rolling admissions, all open positions for the next entering class may be filled even before the deadline has passed. If you want to determine whether late materials will disqualify you, contact the program directly.

Q: Do all PT programs have the same deadline?

A: No, each program establishes its own deadlines. Many programs have multiple deadline dates and give preference to applicants who apply early in the admissions process. You can find these deadlines by reviewing the PTCAS Directory.

Q: Can I apply to additional programs after I submit my application?

A: Once you e-submit your application, you can add more designations for an additional fee of $45 each.

Q: Can I delete or substitute designations after I submit my application?

A: No. If you wish to withdraw your application for one or more programs after you submit, you must contact the program directly. PTCAS does not issue refunds for withdrawn applications.



Top